Mixed scheduled competitions 2018-19


TUESDAY Triples at our club. Any combination. Dates of play:

Oct 9, Nov 13, Dec 11, Jan 15, Feb 12, Mar 12, Apr 9

Start time 10 am. 3 games each of 10 ends. Any combination - men, women or both. Entry fee $10.00. Bring your own lunch.

Prizes the same as usual Thursday Triples, with the exception that the normal 3rd prize is allocated to a mystery team. The position of that team is declared at the start of play.

Convenors: Rewa Allen 04 902 1255 or John Heaton 04 902 0107


2018-19 scheduled competition start dates:

Amalgamation Cup                         Oct 24, Nov 28, Jan 16, Feb 27

Won by: The Men
(see commentry below)

Melbourne Cup                                Nov 6                    

Hodder Plate                                          Dec 12  

Won by: The Women              
(see commentry below)


Harmony Cup & Plate                  Jan 25, 1 Feb (spare)

Won by: R Gill (s) & D Gill

Runners up: A Doherty (s) & J Doherty                                     


Jack & Jill Cup & Plate                 Jan 25, 1 Feb (spare)

Won by: H Grant (s) & P Edwards 

Runners up: A Bradley (s) & H Holme


Mixed Handicap Singles             Mar 8, Mar 15                  

Won by: R Gill

Runner up: M Thomas


Mixed Veteran Triples                  Feb 22         

Won by: Not played due to weather

Runners up:            


Barometer & Norm Allen             Mar 20


Club Captains Day                      Apr 5

Won by: G Baxter (s), A Moul, N Booth             


Ryman Pairs                         Feb 17    

Won by: B Swindail & G Kerr


Ryman Triples                   Mar 24     

Won by:


Ryman Challenge                         11 Feb

At Charles Fleming                   

Won by: Waikanae Beach


Parkwood Cup                                Dec 5

Won by: B Liddall (s), H Holme, P Brown

Runners Up: J Harris (s) B Henry, K Andrews (Waikanae)

(see commentry below)


Bogisch Cup                                Mar 15            

Won by:  G Aarum

Runner up: B Beard

(see commentry below)


Goodwill Trophy                              

Waikanae Beach v Waikanae

Won by:


Explaination of Events

Amalgamation Cup

The Amalgamation Cup is usually played four times in the season either triples of fours depending on numbers. Dates as listed above. Wins and ends are combined to find the overall winner at the end of the competition, sometimes it comes down to ends.  The cup was donated by Tom and Marie Simpson in 1996 to celebrate the amalgamation of club between the mens and womens sections. For many years the men were unbeatable and have won 10 times to the womens 4 times.  However in the last 6 years the women have caught up and are currently leading in the competition this year.

Parkwood Cup

This trophy was donated by Parkwood Village to the Waikanae Beach Bowling Club when the club celebrated its 50th jubilee in 1996.  Traditionally it was mixed fours played over 2 days and is awarded to the best performing Waikanae Beach team. It can be reduced to one day's play but  it must always be mixed and preferably teams of fours.  Outside teams are encouraged with normal gala prizes and conditions applying but they cannot win the Parkwood Cup.

Norm Allen Cup & Barometer events
The annual clash between our club and Waikanae. Two events are played – the Norm Allen cup for the men, which has been played annually for the last 20 years and The Barometer for the women, which has been played every year for the past 30 years.

The Hodder Plate
The Hodder Plate was donated by Keith & Irene Hodder in 1966, both former presidents, always men verses women over one day. It used to be played on the day of the Christmas party and was 21 ends. It was changed in 2000 to 16 ends and played prior to Christmas

The Bogisch Cup
John Bogisch, a long standing member of the club, donated this cup in 2001 to acknowledge the winners of the Men's and Women's Junior Champions. After winning the Men's Junior's in the 2001-02 season John then played Jenni Patterson, who had won the Women's Junior's, and so started the Bogisch Cup. Jenni won the game that fist year.