Welcome to Waikanae Beach Bowling Club

Established 1946

Mixed scheduled competitions 2019-20

Summer season TUESDAY Triples at our club. Any combination. Dates of play to be advised. Start time 10 am. 3 games each of 10 ends. Any combination - men, women or both. Entry fee $10.00. Bring your own lunch.

Prizes the same as usual Thursday Triples, with the exception that the normal 3rd prize is allocated to a mystery team. The position of that team is declared at the start of play.

Convenors: Rewa Allen 04 902 1255 or John Heaton 04 902 0107

2019-20 competition results:

Amalgamation Cup 

(see commentry below)

Won by: The Women

Melbourne Cup

Not played this year

Hodder Plate

(see commentry below)

Won By:  The Men             

Harmony Cup & Plate

Won by: M Rapson(s) & B Rapson

Runners up: A Doherty(s) & J Doherty

Jack & Jill Cup & Plate

Won by: E Martin(s) & F Kell

Runners up: H Grant(s) & B Swindail

Mixed Handicap Singles

Won by: B Swindail

Runner up: M Rapson

Mixed Veteran Triples

Won by: C Shewan(s), D Gill, G Aarum

Runners up: A Bradley(s), R Gill, J Joyce

Barometer & Norm Allen

Not played this year

Club Captains Day 

Not played this year

Ryman Pairs  


Ryman Triples

Not able to be played because of Covid-19

Ryman Challenge TBA At Charles Fleming

Won by: Charles Fleming Village

Parkwood Cup

(see commentry below)

Won by: W Allen(s), M Rapson, R Papps

Runners Up: E Martin(s), M Thomas, P Brown

Bogisch Cup 

(see commentry below)

Not able to be played because of Covid-19

Runner up:

Goodwill Trophy - Waikanae Beach v's Waikanae

Not played this year because of Covid-19


Explaination of Events:

Amalgamation Cup: The Amalgamation Cup is usually played four times in the season either triples of fours depending on numbers. Dates as listed above. Wins and ends are combined to find the overall winner at the end of the competition, sometimes it comes down to ends. The cup was donated by Tom and Marie Simpson in 1996 to celebrate the amalgamation of club between the mens and womens sections. For many years the men were unbeatable and have won 10 times to the womens 4 times. However in the last 6 years the women have caught up and are currently leading in the competition this year.

Parkwood Cup: This trophy was donated by Parkwood Village to the Waikanae Beach Bowling Club when the club celebrated its 50th jubilee in 1996. Traditionally it was mixed fours played over 2 days and is awarded to the best performing Waikanae Beach team. It can be reduced to one day's play but it must always be mixed and preferably teams of fours. Outside teams are encouraged with normal gala prizes and conditions applying but they cannot win the Parkwood Cup.

Norm Allen Cup & Barometer events: The annual clash between our club and Waikanae. Two events are played – the Norm Allen cup for the men, which has been played annually for the last 20 years and The Barometer for the women, which has been played every year for the past 30 years.

The Hodder Plate: The Hodder Plate was donated by Keith & Irene Hodder in 1966, both former presidents, always men verses women over one day. It used to be played on the day of the Christmas party and was 21 ends. It was changed in 2000 to 16 ends and played prior to Christmas

The Bogisch Cup: John Bogisch, a long standing member of the club, donated this cup in 2001 to acknowledge the winners of the Men's and Women's Junior Champions. After winning the Men's Junior's in the 2001-02 season John then played Jenni Patterson, who had won the Women's Junior's, and so started the Bogisch Cup. Jenni won the game that fist year.